Wednesday, November 14, 2012

It's Murder Son

by Lauren Carr

I thoroughly enjoyed this mystery that has a little bit of everything.  There's the Cinderella story - only in this book it's a deserving police detective that inherits mansions, land, money, a restaurant, and more.  Along with his famous mother's assets is a personal secretary who is cute, fun, and smart.  And then there's the dog - more of a liability, perhaps.

Of course, there is murder, and not just one.   To solve these murders, our police detective must look closely at love triangles, neighborhood animosities, get-rich quick schemes, and even a mob connection.  The story has lots of twists and turns and unexpected elements.

Carr writes well and the story flows easily from beginning to end.  I liked the main characters and hope to see them in a follow-up book.  I would love to read more books by Carr even if  her next book is a stand alone.

I just looked and discovered that this book IS part of a series.  It's book 3 of the Mac Faraday Mysteries.  Hooray, that there are 2 books I am looking forward to reading.  Shucks, why do so often I find myself in the middle of series?

***Note added several hours later:  Thank-you to Lauren Carr for leaving a comment and providing the correct information about her Mac Faraday series.  It's Murder, My Son is book 1.  Next is Old Loves Die Hard, then Shades of Murder.  Out in January is Blast from the Past.   Oh, goody!  I'm in with the first book and have 3 more to look forward to.

 ** I received a  copy of It's Murder, My Son  from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. No other compensation was received. 


Lauren Carr said...

Hello, Reader's Journal,

Thank you so much for the great review! Thought I would jump in to clear up confusion about my books:

It's Murder, My Son is the FIRST book in the Mac Faraday series, not the third.

Here's the Mac Faraday Mysteries in order:

It's Murder, My Son
Old Loves Die Hard
Shades of Murder
Blast from the Past (January 2013)

Shades of Murder is 2 mysteries in one. In addition to featuring Mac Faraday, it introduces Joshua Thornton and Cameron Gates, who are the Lovers in Crime featured in:

Dead on Ice
Real Murder (Spring 2013)

My first two books:

A Small Case of Murder
A Reunion to Die For

are no longer in distribution. They featured Joshua Thornton, back when his children were much younger and before he met Cameron Gates. Readers can pick up the Dead on Ice mystery without having read these first two books, which are only available through me and upon request.

Thank you again for the wonderful review! Enjoy!

Lauren Carr

Zibilee said...

This does sound like a series that I would like, and I am glad that you were able to start at the beginning. It sounds like you enjoyed this one a great deal. I will have to look out for it. Great review today!!

Thoughts of Joy said...

Sounds good! I'm off to check the series out. :)